The Entertainer, The Creator, And The Role Of The Blogger On Today’s Web

December 2, 2014

Is it just me and my opinion, or has blogging become the new reality TV of the digital age?

“I am the entertainer, and I know just where I stand”

While there are plenty of bloggers who write because they love the creative outlet and want to share their thoughts and ideas with their audience, there are also a lot of bloggers who essentially monetize their lifestyle. Can’t say I blame them, but at least they can and should admit how they’ve sold out – and they are now the entertainers.

Occasionally, I feel like a hypocrite because I’m a fashion blogger myself, although it is not a full-time gig, and nor do I want it to be. But I do love to see other people’s style and I most definitely respect fashion as an art form, and I love to put together my own outfits as well. So we as fashion bloggers are collectively the entertainers as well.

And I play music, DJ, draw and paint too – so I truly do understand the artistic side of blogging – so I really do appreciate and love anyone who chooses to share their skills online, whether it is a marketing effort or not (no judgment from my side at at all). In fact, musicians who blog and share their work as well get my utmost respect – even and perhaps especially the ones who discuss how public opinion influences their work.

“Today I am your champion, today I’ve won your hearts”

But perhaps I’ve reached the status of being old school, at least on the internet. I remember when no one knew what blogging even was, and thought it was a stupid waste of time. Now, anyone who starts a blog or even an Instagram account wants to make money from it.

“But I know the game, you’ll forget my name, if I don’t stay on the charts”

It’s a fickle relationship between an artist of any kind and their fans – and yes, I include some but definitely not all bloggers in that category. Which isn’t a slight – some bloggers are journalists or curators – both of which are equally valuable to readers at large.

Which brings me into another idea that requires its own blog post – personally, I respect all types of art and the corresponding creators, even if something isn’t my own taste. And I hope everyone reading does the same.

“You don’t have to bump this, but please respect it”

You don’t have to be into hip hop to understand this Tupac lyric – it applies on all levels. It takes courage to be the creator and to open yourself up to critics. And I’ll just say it – I don’t respect the opinion of anyone who categorically dislikes any type of writing, art, music, or anything else because they don’t understand it or immediately get it. Respect the creator.

*PS. I might be the only person on the internet to quote Tupac and Billy Joel in the same post. Go me.

Leave a Reply

