Cool Blog: The Art of Nonconformity

April 28, 2008

I can’t remember exactly how I originally came across Chris Guillebeau’s blog, The Art of Nonconformity, but it is very cool.  Chris is a writer and entrepreneur whose goal is to visit every country in the world, and he is writing about his experiences (along with tons of other interesting things) along the way. 

My favorite post is 100 countries or an S.U.V.?  As you might guess, it is about choosing to spend money on travel as opposed to a more typical expenditure, like a pricey car.  I completely agree – I’d much rather spend on travel (and I travel cheaply) than pretty much anything else, especially an expensive vehicle (granted, I do live in a city where it is very easy to get by without a car – and hey, one less car on the road is better for the environment and all that).  And I quote:

“But for me, I feel much more comfortable valuing life experiences. I value meeting people all over the world. I value stamps in my passport and real-life adventures I would have missed if I would have stayed home.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

One Response to “Cool Blog: The Art of Nonconformity”

  1. […] 25, 2008 I’ve written about Chris Guillebeau before, and he recently emailed me about his new ebook/manifesto with a textbook example of how […]

Leave a Reply

