Monday Music Madness: 4th of July Playlist

July 2, 2007

From now on, every Monday I’ll post a short playlist of my current favorite songs.  Why?  Because this is my blog, and I can.  This week’s has a vague 4th of July/all American theme.

*Disclaimer: I am not particularly cool, nor do I try to be, and that extends to my music choices.  Don’t expect the latest and hippest bands or anything really indie. 

America by Simon and Garfunkel – The perfect slightly disaffected song about searching for the American dream, acid trips, what have you.  Besides, it’s just a beautiful song.

Running Down A Dream by Tom Petty – I dare you to listen to this song and stay in a bad mood.  I felt so good, like anything was possible…this is the song I listen to whenever I’m down about something.

Take It Easy by the Eagles – Self-explanatory.  I remember reading about how that the “seven women” (I’m running down the road, trying to loosen my load, I’ve got seven women on my mind, four that wanna own me, two that wanna stone me, one says she’s a friend of mine) were actually the days of the week – the four being the work days, the two being Friday and Saturday, and the last one being Sunday (church and all).  Take that as you will.

Get Up, Stand Up by Bob Marley – Because it fits in the 4th of July theme and it’s an uplifting song.

A Little Less Conversation by Elvis – I personally like the JXL remix.  More classic American music that’s bright and happy.  See if you can stay still when the King sings come on baby I’m tired of talkin’, grab your coat and let’s start walking.

American Women by Jimi Hendrix – The Lenny Kravitz cover doesn’t hold a candle to the original.

What I Got by Sublime – Because it’s the perfect summer chill out song.

2 Responses to “Monday Music Madness: 4th of July Playlist”

  1. Chris said

    Hi,

    I was wondering— are you guys going to be doing any sort of 4th of July feature, or play list promo?

    I know the date is soon approaching, but a new project from the legendary Kenny Gamble just fell into my lap (you know, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, father of the “Philadelphia Sound” and multiple Grammy-winning producer & songwriter known for hundreds of classic hits by such artists as The O’Jays and Patti Labelle among others).

    It’s a new ode to patriotism entitled “I Am An American”, and track includes the one and only Patti Labelle along with the Temple University Orchestra and Choirs. It’s got all the makings of being one of the great patriotic tunes of our time… a little different from what you’d expect from him, I know, but given that patriotism in the U.S. is on the rise these days with the Presidential elections, war in Iraq, and soon approaching Independence Day, Gamble was inspired to produce a song he feels will help to raise the morale and consciousness of people at this crucial time in our history as a nation.
    Anyhoo, the track is set for a digital release on July 1st through Sony Masterworks. Could be great for any Independence Day-themed features.

    You can listen to the full version here: (but we’ve got edited versions too)

    http://www.mediafire.com/?m3enuxsxz9v

    Let me know what you think!

    Best regards,

    Chris Fingado

    Two Sheps That Pass…

    401 Broadway Suite 804

    New York, NY 10013

    646-613-1101 T

    786-513-0692 F

    chrisf@twoshepsthatpass.com E

    http://www.twoshepsthatpass.com W

  2. James said

    It’s American Woman – The Guess Who, just a heads up 🙂

Leave a Reply

