Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young

June 12, 2007

After having several readers ask, I decided to explain the name of my blog on my blog.  The title is taken from one of my favorite songs, Southern Cross by 60s rock/folk band Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.

My favorite lyrics:

When you see the Southern Cross for the first time,

You understand now why you came this way.

Cause the truth you might be running from is so small

But it’s as big as the promise, the promise of a coming day.

The actual Southern Cross is a constellation only visible in the Southern Hemisphere – read the wikipedia entry for more info.  It also has significance as a guide for sailors as they navigated the southern seas, because the Crux was visible during even the darkest of nights, leading them through to the coming day.

3 Responses to “Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young”

  1. Jimmy Rowe said

    G’day Jacqueline, on behalf of all of us down under in the Southern Hemisphere I’ve just got to know: have you seen the Southern Cross?

    Jimmy
    ps like your cat.

  2. Jacqueline Zenn said

    No, I haven’t seen it yet – but I will. And thanks for the compliment on the behalf of Eva, my cat.

  3. […] 25.  If I ever write a book, I will give it this title…putting me on the spot here – I’ll use my blog’s title, Chasing the Southern Cross (explanation here). […]

Leave a Reply

