Some Like It Spicy

June 10, 2007

Even though I currently live in Chicago, I circumnavigate the globe weekly, sometimes even daily.  How, you may ask?  Is that even possible?

Well, if you count eating an international diet, it is.  The right dish, and the right spices, can transport me to faraway lands, if only for the duration of the meal.  A sprinkling of zatar reminds me of souks and bazaars, saffron of life along the Spanish Costas, and the many different kinds of chili peppers evoke locales as varied as they are. 

Which brings me back to the prompt.  “Spicy” can also mean hot, fiery, and bold.  Amongst other things (hey, I’ve got to keep this blog relatively PG), I like my food hot.  I add pepper, tabasco sauce, or salsa to nearly everything.  In fact, I’m pretty sure that salsa, not bananas, is the world’s most perfect food.  Besides the usual suspects like burritos and enchiladas, I’ve been known to put salsa on everything from egg rolls and burgers to pizza (it works especially well on pineapple pizza). 

I even make my own on occasion.  A salsa verde with very few, but ideally very fresh, ingredients – roasted tomatillos, a habanero or two, onions, cilantro, and garlic, all ground together in a blender and topped off with a little lime juice.

*Check out this week’s Sunday Scribblings for more spicy writing.

7 Responses to “Some Like It Spicy”

  1. gautami said

    You just made my mouth water reading about! I can’t imagine life without chillies.

  2. Gill said

    Interesting thought that – circumnavigating the globe at the diningroom table!

    What a gorgeous photo.

  3. Herb said

    I am sitting here drinking my coffee and eating cheerios wishing I could be transported to a far off land where salsa went with everything.

  4. Lisa said

    Cute Post! I so agree that you can circumnavigate the globe through the enjoyment of food. Yum, Salsa Verde! I love it. Wish I had some tomatillas lying around.

  5. Jacqueline –

    What would you have written if you weren’t keeping this PG? 😉

    Enjoyed the read… but watch out for those habanero’s!

  6. Paris Parfait said

    Yum, salsa with nearly everything! I love that idea. And zatar – I had forgotten all about that until you mentioned it. When I lived in the Middle East, it was very common to have this on bread in the morning or in people’s coffee. I still remember the strong smell.

  7. Jacqueline Zenn said

    I love zatar on bread, but I’ll admit I’ve never heard of putting it in coffee. Perhaps I’ll experiment.

Leave a Reply

