City vs. Country and The Shining

June 7, 2007

The quiet of the country unnerves me.  Although I’ve spent time in areas of northern Michigan that are fairly remote, being in places where there’s no cell phone reception unnerves me.  The woods, the endless sand dunes with their sparse, sad-looking vegetation, and complete lack of signs of human life remind of the isolated hotel in The Shining

I’m just waiting for Jack Nicholson to run out of the woods with an axe, screaming “Here’s Johnny!”

Obviously, this unlikely event isn’t going to happen, but I still don’t like isolation.  I’m a city girl through and through, and I love the noise, the crowdedness, the energy of a big city.  I like knowing that I can get quality sushi or an authentic burrito at 3am, knowing that I’m surrounded by, and participating in, world class culture, and the sheer melting pot aspect of it all.  I like having dozens of shopping options and being part of a vibrant community of creative professionals.  I even enjoy seeing random eccentric people wearing crazy outfits or doing odd things.

I also like knowing that if Jack Nicholson chops through the door with his axe, someone will hear me scream.

This post is being submitted to Sunday Scribblings.

3 Responses to “City vs. Country and The Shining”

  1. Scott said

    But if you scream will anyone care? Or would it be just another noise in the city? I’m not passing judgement on your city or neighborhood, I’m just wondering. 🙂

  2. Jacqueline Zenn said

    I’d hope my neighbors would care! (yes, even in a big city people do talk to their neighbors). At in the city there are people around.

    By the way, the Shining reference was a joke.

  3. Ah! I used to be like that… A proper city girl, born and raised in Sao Paulo (which I guess holds a pop of about 11 million these days!). I’m not sure what’s happening to me, but as I get a bit older, I’m slowly learning to appreciate the quiet and bucolic. More Trees, Flowers, Birds… Quietness to stop and write, paint, create. I like living in San Francisco because you can get to the countryside or mountains really quickly. Easy scape! Thanks for stopping by at my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

