The Golden Rule

June 4, 2007

Despite the best efforts of the staff throughout my many years of Catholic education (spare me the schoolgirl jokes), I’m not the least bit religious.  I have a long and varied list of vices, the last time I darkened the door of a religious establishment was over a year ago (and that was only for a wedding), and as a card carrying member of the fashion-industrial complex, no one is ever going to mistake me for Mother Theresa or even think I’m particularly selfless.

However, I do have one simple rule* – if you put good stuff out into the universe, it will come back to you.  Whether its through volunteer work, helping out a friend without expecting reciprocation, or simply leaving a generous tip, you’re getting some karma in your corner.

Clearly, I’m a huge advocate of the golden rule, and I genuinely do like helping people in need – even if they only ask my advice.  In fact, I’m enough of a hippie to attribute some of my successes to this – by doing good things and putting good vibes out there (I don’t like that term but I’m at a loss for a better one) out there, I’m gaining happiness/good karma/etc.  Besides, I like the warm and fuzzy feeling – hey, I never said I was perfect.

*Note: this does not apply to the many panhandlers in my neighborhood, mainly because most of them have more expensive cell phones than me.  I find it hard to believe that they’re really homeless when I see them talking on a $400 phone.

Leave a Reply

