It’s Not a Career, It’s a Lifestyle

May 22, 2007

I know that I’ve posted about the things I want to do before, but today I was thinking about goals.  Long term goals.  Of course, everyone should have some kind of career plan – some sort of focus.  It doesn’t necessarily have to be monetary, but a complete lack of defined plans generally leads to random drifting, and before you know it, you’ve spent years at an unfulfilling job with little to show for it.

Like everyone else, I want to make money.  However, the reason that I (and the significant majority of other people) want to make piles of money is for the freedom it provides.  Cash is a tool, not an end in itself. 

I recently finished reading Tim Feriss’s book, The 4 Hour Work Week.  This book is not about being lazy, on the contrary, it’s about arranging your job/business in the manner that will give you the most freedom.  The tagline is “Escape the 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich.”  As a group, the New Rich don’t necessarily have the fattest bank accounts, but they are rich where it really counts – they have the time and the freedom to do the things they really want to do, whether its traveling around the world or simply spending more time with family.

At the risk of sounding like a total groupie, I’m buying what Tim’s selling.  I’ve already got the whole “live anywhere” thing down pat (I can work from any place that has internet and cell phone service).  However, I’ve got some work to do in order to get the rest of the lifestyle in order.

I’ve said this many times, but my ultimate goal is to travel the world and write about it.  Not as a mere tourist, but as a student of human nature and as a writer.  I like this quote from Paul Fussell’s book Abroad:

“Before the development of tourism, travel was conceived to be like study, and its fruits were considered to be the adornment of the mind and the formation of the judgment.”

I want to volunteer with different NGOs and charities, and teach ESL (English as a second language).  I want to write about my experiences – use my talent and expertise to promote a good cause.  I want to tell the important stories.  To continue in the hippie vein, I want to work with Big Cat Rescue or a similar organization.  Talk about taking my cat lady tendencies to a whole new level.

I also want to will write books- and at first that requires some side income, as I’m not independently wealthy (hardly the case) and authors don’t exactly attract tons of investors.  This is a goal that I have made some progress towards – not only do I have the bones and ideas for several works of fiction on my hard drive, I’ve managed to get paying work as a writer.  Hey, you have to start somewhere!

3 Responses to “It’s Not a Career, It’s a Lifestyle”

  1. Okay, I must order Tim’s book!

    I think your plan sounds great and I think it is feasible. I just got a few commissioned pieces from my blog last week. I am starting to feel like a writer, too!

  2. […] May 28th, 2007 “You have to read this book, it changed my life!” they say.  The Secret is probably the most recent book that people say this about, but it’s definitely not the first.  The Alchemist (a well-written book that I thoroughly enjoyed) comes to mind, as well as the 4 Hour Work Week, which I recently raved about. […]

  3. […] may have been the first place I came across that term, actually).  Also, the 4 Hour Work Week is a pretty fantastic book, and as we all know, no amount of buzz, clever packaging, or marketing stunts will make up for a […]

Leave a Reply

