The First Step

March 28, 2007

They say that a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.  I took my first step practically before I could even read by leafing through the huge world atlas at the local library.  Those colorful maps and photos of exotic lands were my personal escape from the gray, generally depressing atmosphere of my hometown.  What can I say – I grew up in Detroit – a bit of escapism was necessary.  My first trip out of the country (Windsor, Canada doesn’t really count) was to Switzerland, and I, along the rest of my sychronized skating team, were representing the U.S.A. at an international competition.  Granted, I didn’t get to see a whole lot of the country, but that experience whet my appetite and since then I’ve added eleven (and counting) new stamps to my passport.  This will be where I record past stories and new adventures. 

Leave a Reply

